You open Facebook and you see it again: a request from that one person from that one place that is just dying to be your friend for some reason. If you’re unsure, you can friend them, but keep them from getting too personal with this trick.
If you know someone is bad news—or just a spammer—go ahead and just block them. When it’s someone you’ll see regularly, though, it’s sometimes better to try and sidestep that awkward landmine. Amit Agarwal at tech blog Digital Inspiration has a simple solution for that annoying guy that thinks you just haven’t seen his repeated friend requests. Go ahead and add them so they can sleep in peace knowing you’ve acknowledged their existence, and then make your way to their profile page. Click the Friends button at the top, then select Add to another list, then choose Restricted.
Now they’re your friend, but they’ll only be able to see whatever public followers can see on your profile. If your profile is locked down, they won’t see much, but at least they’ll stop trying to friend you. Maybe even after some time you’ll see that they’re okay and you can move them back into the friend zone.